EPA 608 Universal Certification

As the premier source for Federal EPA certification training in Eastern Washington, Thermal-King, Inc empowers technicians to demonstrate their specialized knowledge through professional certification exams. Elevate your refrigeration career with EPA 608 Universal Certification, ensuring you stay at the forefront of industry advancements. Explore the diverse certifications available through Thermal-King, Inc:

The “Universal” license includes all 3 and needs to be proctored in person.

EPA 608 Thermal-King, Inc Study Guide Recomendation

For individuals seeking certification under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act, Thermal-King, Inc offers a convenient avenue to access the necessary exams. Whether technicians are interested in servicing small appliances (Type I), dealing with high- or very high-pressure appliances (Type II), handling low-pressure appliances (Type III), or aiming for the Universal Certification covering all equipment types, Thermal-King, Inc provides a streamlined process for exam administration.

Local technicians in the area can easily take these crucial exams through Thermal-King, Inc, ensuring a hassle-free and accessible pathway to attain the required Section 608 Technician Certification.

With their commitment to facilitating the certification process, Thermal-King, Inc serves as a reliable resource for individuals pursuing compliance with EPA regulations and enhancing their proficiency in refrigerant-related activities.

Requirements & Types of Certifications


In accordance with EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) outlined in Section 608 of the Clean Air Act, technicians engaged in the maintenance, service, repair, or disposal of equipment capable of emitting refrigerants into the atmosphere are mandated to obtain certification.

To achieve Section 608 Technician Certification, technicians must successfully pass an EPA-approved test tailored to the specific type of equipment they intend to work on. These tests are to be administered by an EPA-approved certifying organization. It’s important to note that Section 608 Technician Certification credentials have no expiration date. However, core tests, when taken as open book exams, cannot be utilized for obtaining Universal Certification. The core test must be completed as a proctored exam to attain Universal Certification.

Under EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) within Section 608 of the Clean Air Act, a “technician” is defined as an individual engaged in activities such as:

Attaching and detaching hoses and gauges to and from an appliance to measure pressure within the appliance.

Adding refrigerant to or removing refrigerant from an appliance.
Any other activity that compromises the integrity of a motor vehicle air conditioner (MVAC)-like appliance or small appliance (except disposal).

Apprentices are exempt from certification requirements as long as they receive close and continuous supervision from a certified technician.

Types of Certifications

The EPA has established four certification types:

  1. (Type I) For servicing small appliances.
  2. (Type II) For servicing or disposing of high- or very high-pressure appliances, excluding small appliances and MVACs .
  3. (Type III) For servicing or disposing of low-pressure appliances .

For servicing all types of equipment (Universal).

Additionally, technicians can expand their credentials by taking the EPA 608 exam and Industry Competency Exam (ICE) through Thermal-King, Inc Partnership. Activate your potential today! Call: 509-558-8255

North Eastern Washington HVAC and Refrigeration Experts

If your organization is interested in learning more about the services offered by Thermal-King, Inc, get a quote immediately.